All World of Warcraft expansions in chronological order


    Whether you’re a new or old player, you may need a reminder of all World of Warcraft expansions in chronological order, as there have been many since the game released nearly twenty years ago. 

    World of Warcraft is one MMORPG game that has staying power like no other, and this is largely thanks to the consistent release cycle of expansions, which has seen the world of Azeroth grow larger and larger. 

    For any player looking to jump into the game now, there is an overwhelming amount of content, from the vanilla game all the way up to the latest expansion that launched in 2022. So, if you need to know all of WoW’s expansions in chronological order, read on. 

    How many expansions are there in World of Warcraft?

    Click to enlarge

    There are currently nine expansions for World of Warcraft, all of which have provided tonnes of new content to the vanilla experience, with new areas, races, quests, items, and much more. 

    The latest expansion, Dragonflight, adds a new race to the mix – the Dracthyr, alongside a whole new high-fantasy area to explore known as the Dragon Isles (go figure).

    All World of Warcraft expansions in order

    Here are all the current World of Warcraft expansions in chronological order, along with their release year:

    1. World of Warcraft vanilla (2004)
    2. Burning Crusade (2007)
    3. Wrath of the Lich King (2008)
    4. Cataclysm (2010)
    5. Mists of Pandaria (2012)
    6. Warlords of Draenor (2014)
    7. Legion (2016)
    8. Battle for Azeroth (2018)
    9. Shadowlands (2020)
    10. Dragonflight (2022)

    The WoW expansion list is expected to continue growing as it’s still one of the most popular games in the world, and Blizzard intends to continue supporting it for the foreseeable future. 

    On top of all the expansions that have been developed for World of Warcraft, starting in 2019, Blizzard began launching classic servers, which preserved the state of the game in a particular time, free of all the new expansions and changes that came with them. 

    All Classic versions of WoW

    world of warcraft classic key art

    Click to enlarge

    Here is the list of classic versions of WoW:

    1. World of Warcraft Classic
    2. Burning Crusades Classic
    3. Wrath of the Lich King Classic

    That’s all for our explanation of the World of Warcraft expansions in chronological order, and now you know all nine expansions, along with the year they were released. 

    For more WoW guides, stick with GGRecon.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here