Season 22, Pinnacle cap & how to reach it



    Reaching the power level cap in Destiny 2 is one of the primary goals of most Guardians, as Destiny 2 is an RPG at heart – which means a lot of looting and levelling up. 

    The power cap in Destiny 2 is not changing in Season 22, which is a change to the game from previous years – but there’s still a lot to know about it. So here is everything you need to know about the Destiny 2 power level cap coming into Season 22 and how you can reach it.

    What is the power level cap in Destiny 2?

    Three Destiny 2 Guardians in Neomuna, wearing Lightfall armour

    Click to enlarge

    The current power level cap in Destiny 2 is 1810. This is the Pinnacle cap, which can only be reached with Pinnacle rewards from Dungeons, Raids, and other Pinnacle activities.

    The hard cap – the one that can be reached with powerful loot drops – is 1800. Players who reach that level will need to focus on Pinnacle rewards in order to climb those last ten levels.

    The power cap was increased to 1810 with the launch of Lightfall, and unlike previous years, it has not changed with the release of a new season. Previously, the power cap would increase by ten levels each season, but Bungie has since changed this.

    If you reached the level cap of 1810 during Season of Defiance or Season of the Deep, rest assured that you do not need to grind further in order to reach a new power cap in Season 22.

    How to reach the power level cap in Destiny 2

    Cover art for Destiny 2 Lightfall, which brought the level cap up to 1810

    Click to enlarge

    Increasing your power level in Destiny 2 requires you to gather new gear of increasingly higher levels. For starters, there is a soft level cap of 1750, and any legendary or rare gear will take you to that level.

    If you want to surpass it you’ll need to earn “Powerful” gear, which is earned through activities like Strikes, Crucible matches, and Gambit. This will bring you all the way up to 1800, which of course is still 10 levels away from the coveted Destiny 2 power level cap.

    The following ten levels through to 1810 are tied to a type of gear called “Pinnacle Gear”, which can be earned through some of the most difficult challenges and activities available, like dungeons and raids, Nightfalls, the weekly story mission, and events such as Iron Banner and Trials of Osiris.

    So that’s all you need to know about the Destiny 2 power level cap and how to reach it. For more on the game, check out our Destiny homepage, our rundown of the Destiny 2 best PvE weapons, or check out everything from Destiny 2’s reset this week.



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here