BG3 All Warlock Subclasses, Ranked


    Screenshot by MyFullGames

    There are a lot of choices for classes in Baldur’s Gate and each comes with it’s own advantages and play style. Once you choose your class, you will soon have to choose your subclass at different levels. Subclasses can make a big difference in the abilities, spells, and roles you will have in the game. Choosing a subclass all depends on how you want to play, but for stats, spells, and added abilities, here are the best Warlock subclasses.

    Warlocks are those who make a pact with a certain powerful entity that offers them special powers. The different Warlock subclasses will give you access to different spells and features, which can drastically change how your character functions. Unlike some other classes, Warlocks get their subclass choice at level one so you will have to know what direction you want your abilities to go early on. The three Warlock subclasses include The Fiend, The Archfey, and The Great Old One. Here are the best subclasses for Warlocks in Baldur’s Gate 3.

    3. The Great Old One

    Image via Larian Studios

    The Great Old One subclasses give players access to some interesting spells that focus more on debuffing than damage. Great Old One Warlocks will have access to a number of useful spells including Tasha’s Hideous Laughter, Dissonant Whispers, Detect Thoughts, and more at higher levels. Tasha’s Hideous Laughter will drop enemies prone in a fit of laughter, which can be very helpful for melee characters to get advantage on an attack on that enemy. Dissonant Whispers can deal damage and frighten an enemy, which can be paired nicely with the Great Old One features.

    Here are the Great Old One features and what levels you get them at:

    Subclass Feature Description Level
    Mortal Reminder When you land a Critical Hit against a creature, that creature and nearby enemies are Frightened until the end of their next turn 1
    Entropic Ward As a reaction,  you can impose Disadvantage on an Attack Roll against you. If the attack misses, you gain Advantage on your next attack roll against your attacker for 1 turn. 6

    Mortal Reminder is a great feature that can keep enemies at bay and allow you to use your Eldritch Blast effectively. Entropic Ward can also keep you safe and allows you to punish missed attacks.

    Related: What are Wares in Baldur’s Gate 3?

    2. The Archfey

    Image via Larian Studios

    The Archfey Warlock takes a Fey entity as their patron, allowing them access to different spells and features that are great for utility, buffs, and debuffs. The Archfey gets access to the spells Fairie Fire, Sleep, Calm Emotion, Phantasmal Force, and more in later levels. Here are the Archfey features and what level you get them at:

    Subclass Feature Description Level
    Fey Presence As an action, you can create a 10-foot cube originating from you to frighten or charm every creature in it who fails a Wisdom saving throw. 1
    Misty Escape When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible and teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. You remain invisible until the start of your next turn or until you attack or cast a spell 6

    Fey Presence is a great feature that can affect multiple enemies if you are overwhelmed. Misty Escape can also be a life-saver, as you can quickly move away from danger if you take damage. Both these features can be used as last-ditch efforts to stay alive or as a strategic move to gain the upper hand in fights.

    1. The Fiend

    Image via Larian Studios

    The Fiend is the most powerful subclass for Warlocks, as it gives you access to great offensive and defensive spells for combat. The features also give Fiend Warlocks great utility help for checks and restoring health in combat. Fiend Warlocks can be a force to be reckoned with and combined with other multiclasses, has the potential to be a very powerful build in Baldur’s Gate 3. The spells that Fiend Warlocks get include Armour of Agathys, Arms of Hadar, Blindness, Scotching Ray, Fireball, Stinking Cloud, and more at higher levels. Here are the features Fiend Warlocks receive:

    Subclass Feature Description Level
    Dark One’s Blessing When you reduce a hostile creature to 0 hit points, you receive HP equal to your Charisma Modifier + Level 1
    Dark One’s Own Luck Call on your patron to change your fate and add a 1d10 to an Ability Check. 6

    The Dark One’s Blessing can keep your health up during fights, especially if you are dishing out a lot of damage and killing blows. The Dark One’s Own Luck is extremely helpful because you can potentially change a failed Ability Check to a success, which can help you through story events.

    For more on Baldur’s Gate, check out Trap Disarming Guide (Baldur’s Gate 3) here on MyFullGames.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here